Everything You Could Ever Want to Know About Fuel Handling

I remember back to my early days in working at an FBO, I was still struggling to find a direction to my career in aviation. I found that direction in aviation fuel handling and I can remember searching high and low for informational sources so that I could learn more about the processes, procedures and equipment that our industry uses to make sure that fuel is delivered clean, dry and on-specification. I remember reading the old, blue covered, NATA Fuel Handling guide and the Gam-Grams from Gammon Technical Products.

A new resource on aviation fuel handling became available late last year from the Energy Institute; the second edition of EI 1550, the Handbook on equipment used for the maintenance and delivery of clean aviation fuel. I am reading it now and it is a valuable reference for anyone involved in the handling of aviation fuel. The handbook is available directly from the Energy Institute here.

While we are on the subject, there are a number of other great resources on fuel handling including the Gam-Grams I mentioned earlier and:

There are likely other fantastic resources out there. Please don’t hesitate to let me know other resources that you depend on!

Submitted by Michael France, NATA Director of Safety and Training

Visit or return to NATA website: http://www.nata.aero/safety1st

Leave a Reply

